Record Store Day 2014 is coming on April 19th!

“Katatonia collectors and vinyl lovers will be pleased to know that we’ve compiled some of our most rare and appreciated b-sides on a 12″ vinyl for the first time ever! Printed on matte reversed stock and limited to 2000 copies, ‘Kocytean’ will be available only from independent record stores, so get ready to hunt down your copy next month and enjoy this beautiful vinyl release!”


Side A 

1. Unfurl
2. Sold Heart
3. Ashen

Side B

4. Second
5. Code Against The Code
6. The Act Of Darkening

‘Kocytean’ is a wordplay on Cocytus or Kokytos, meaning “the river of wailing” (from the Greek Κωκυτός, “lamentation”) and is a river in the underworld in Greek mythology. Cocytus flows into the river Acheron, across which is the underworld, the mythological abode of the dead.

Anders comments on how the idea came up behind the artwork “I had this scenario playing over and over in my head and together with my graphics shrink Travis Smith decided to convey them down into a series of 4 images where it takes you through struggle, despair, tranquility and hope”.

More info on RSD ’14: www.recordstoreday.co.uk

  • March 25th, 2014

Leave a Reply